My great weekend.

38 “You have heard that it was said, An eye for an eye and a tooth for a tooth. 39 But I tell you, don’t resist b an evildoer. On the contrary, if anyone slaps you on your right cheek, turn the other to him also. 40 As for the one who wants to sue you and take away your shirt,  let him have your coat e as well. 41 And if anyone forces you to go one mile, go with him two. 42 Give to the one who asks you, and don’t turn away from the one who wants to borrow from you.

The Holy Bible : Holman Christian standard version. 2009 (Mt 5:38–42). Nashville: Holman Bible Publishers.

 

Community Outreach

 

On May 19 my church did a community cookout for Pageland Apartments in South Carolina. We had food and games and preaching over there and we all had a great time. My pastor and I went door to door the Monday before with flyers to let them know about the cookout and I got soaked! I wanted to be done with it and go home. My pastor did not want the papers to get wet and wanted the opportunity to talk to the people who answered the door. Come Saturday we were at it again to get them to come out. Many were senior citizens and I think did not feel like coming out. The children and their parents came out though through out the day and we got receive the word and witness a little.  The message was about hope for a better life through Christ and what shocked my wife is that some of the children thought a better life was a larger apartment when God is offering so much more. When that is all you know though what can you expect? Many of the families that we saw Saturday we saw again on Sunday.

 

Sunday Service

 

The message Sunday was about forgiving your enemies and forgetting what was done.  I hate to say it but, I had this exact conversation with Sarah and she said that as Christians we are suppose to forgive and forget. I retaliated that the bible does not say that, that it said to forgive but, nothing about forgetting it! Ouch. I misled my own child in what I thought without even praying on it that I was right about it or not. How many have tried to pray to God to forgive your enemies and to BLESS them. I will tell you now that I have done this but, it was not without  anger, tears and even screaming and telling God that I do not want to do this I would struggle with just trying to say their name and my mouth would lock up.. Even now after all this time I feel the tears well up in my eyes. If you have not done this or been through this  then ask yourself how sincere are you in your walk with Christ?

I tell you now that when I finally got through to praying for my enemies who are not really my enemies but the spirit behind them that influences them then you have a tremendous release and the tears come again but not from anger but overwhelming joy. Now I need to take that next step and forget what was done in the past. My issue is in the world you are expected not to forget so it does not happen again but, I am not a man of the world anymore, I am of Christ so now I go forth to reach souls with love and compassion and now I have a better understanding about turning the other cheek.

About brothertripp

I am a christian, a husband, a father and I am writing about my daily walk and sometimes stumble for God. Occasionally I will write some of my daily devotionals with my own interpretation of them.
This entry was posted in Faith, Life, Outreach and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

